Adventure Diary |3| Paris – Palais de Tokyo

The day after my adventure at the Tuileries Garden, I hunted down the John Galliano show. It happened to take place at the Palais de Tokyo so I grabbed my least torturous pair of heels and went on my way. 

It didn’t take long for me to get there and no way for me to be confused where to go: there already was a massive wave of people going in the direction of the museum. Naturally I followed, apprehensive of what I was going to walk into, and while I was prepared for the crowd, I wasn’t prepared for the feeling that accompanied it. After I moved past the feeling is awe for the location and the view it offered, I must say I was left a bit underwhelmed by the presence of so many people. (None that I recognized, by the way) It seemed a lot of them were students, trying to steal a glance, some were prideful things trying to get in front of the line to, hopefully, push themselves in, while others walked around and around, wearing their fanciest outfit (or costume) trying to get photographed. 

I must say I tried the same method for the day before AKA go chat with the often disliked, brave souls that guard the entries backstage and to the side. Both times I was unable to get anything accomplished, either because they weren’t born yesterday or because of the lack of privacy to get a good conversation going with people who always had to be on the lookout.

So just was I was looking for a different strategy, there was a big movement of the crowd and the lady that works at the reception (who I was talking to) informed me they had closed the door and the show was starting. (She also mentioned that the number of people was unusually big compared to the previous shows and years)

That is when I decided it would be best for me to leave, before getting stuck in the cluster of disappointed faces making its way out.

Leave a comment